Welcome to the Ridings

The three Ridings – North, West, East – are the historic divisions of Yorkshire. My ‘ridings’ are a series of bike trips exploring England’s largest county, as defined by its traditional borders.

There's no South Riding, because ‘North Riding’ etc is essentially a contraction of ‘North Thirding’. The Vikings thought in threes, much as I do when entering a Wetherspoon.


Nov 2019   York Orbital Guide – New in-depth page on riding York's most underrated cycle route

Oct 2019   River Ride No 4 — Aire: Malham to Airmyn

Sep 2019   Post on the revived Nun Monkton ferry

Aug 2019   River Ride No 3 — Wharfe: Beckermonds to Cawood

See where I'm cycling right now on my Facebook page.

(Right) Bingley Five Rise Locks. There's something in the Aire tonight. Industrial runoff, perhaps.

River Rides 2019

The mighty River Don. Not the one running 1100 miles across Russia into the Sea of Azov. The one in Yorkshire that goes past Meadowhall.

The current series of rides follows Yorkshire’s eight main rivers from source to mouth. The Swale, Ure, Nidd, Wharfe, Aire, Calder, Don and Derwent all flow ultimately into the Ouse not far from York, and their dales and valleys span the county – see the map top right.

Swale: Keld to Myton   Trekking bike
Ure: Garsdale to Linton   Touring bike
Nidd: Scar House to Nun Monkton   Folding bike
Wharfe: Beckermonds to Cawood   Touring bike   20–21 Aug 2019
Aire: Malham to Airmyn   Trekking bike   9–10 Oct 2019
Calder: Cornholme to Castleford   Trekking bike   10–11 Jan 2019
Don: Dunford Bridge to Goole   Town bike   26–27 Nov 2018
Derwent: Lilla Cross to Barmby   Trekking bike

Compass Rides 2017

Spurn Point, aka Spurn Head, now aka Spurn Island, Yorkshire's southeasternmost point. Or head. Or island.

In 2017 I enjoyed eight rides that each followed a compass direction from my home in York to the cyclable extremity of the historic border – see the map second-top right.

N: York to Redcar   On-road   3 Apr 2017
NE: York to Robin Hood's Bay   Off-road   31 May–1 Jun 2017
E: York to Bridlington   On-road   21 Apr 2017
SE: York to Spurn Point   Off-road   11–12 Jun 2017
S: York to Harthill   On-road   4 Apr 2017
SW: York to Saddleworth   On-road   5–6 May 2017
W: York to Dunsop Bridge   On-road   25–27 Jul 2017
NW: York to High Force   Off-road   15–17 Oct 2017

Other rides

Swaledale, home of Britain's fastest-to-spate river. More good reasons not to ride in the rain.

There are also blog posts for other, one-off, trips to various locations. They’re listed by place, and also by date, in the menu bar at the side.

No comments:

Post a Comment